Basket and login details

Audrey Seguy Basket: £5 (1 item)   Sign out

User login

We're re-developing the Mezz! This bouldering area will be closed until the end of the month. During this time there will be some disruption while we carry out works. This will be kept to a minimum and the majority of work will occur during our off-peak hours.

 

Title

The Centre

Photos: Ben Grubb

Our unique Grade II listed building has a rich history that far outdates the short time we have called it home. In a bid to improve the quality of drinking water in London, the Castle was built as a water pumping station between 1852 to1856. The building’s original use soon became obsolete – by 1971 the Metropolitan Water Board made a bid to tear it down and redevelop the site. Thankfully with the support or local residents and historical associations this magnificent building was maintained.  In 1993 we took it over, opening the Castle Climbing Centre to the public in 1995. Scroll down to see what we’ve done with the place. We hope you like it as much as we do.

More on the Castle's exraordinary history can be found here.